Crawling out of the rabbit hole

So it has been over a year since I’ve written for the blog and the only way to explain it is that I had gone down a rabbit hole. For those of you that are not familiar with the term, here is the top definition found on Urban Dictionary.
An allusion to Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland. To go “down the rabbit hole” is to enter a period of chaos or confusion. Can also be said when taking a hallucinogenic, as some suspect Carroll’s novel was really about a drug trip.
School’s starting up again, time to “Go Down the Rabbit Hole” once more.
I can confirm that I have not been taking hallucinogenic substances; however, 2016 was a year of chaos and confusion in many ways. My high moments were REALLY HIGH: I entered the year in Washington DC as I accompanied a group of extraordinary teachers through a global developmental programme with the World Affairs Council of DC. I managed to publish my second book. I even found myself at the Jozi Book Fair and interviewed on two radio stations. I grew the client base of my company exponentially, to the point where I could hire four staff members. I graduated from a year long leadership course, specializing in dialogue facilitation, at GIBS. HOWEVER, my low moments were REALLY LOW. I pushed myself to an uncontrollable state of blahhhhh. I even had to be admitted for anxiety and depression. Forced to take a mouth full of tablets every morning and evening. I found myself in a state of:
“I knew who I was this morning but I’ve changed a few times since then…”
“Have I gone made? I’m afraid so…”
“Who the hell am I? “*
dsc_0105
“What the flunk nuggets is going on in my life right now?”
I isolated myself to the point where I couldn’t even be on social media. Without putting out too many details I found myself going down the rabbit hole and upon reflection, which has been a work in progress reflection over the past year, I found that, “the hurrier I go, the behinder I get”*. BUUUUUUUTTTTTTTTTTT I’ve put on my brakes and I am back on these internet streets to give you a little bit more of me and what I have been, and will be, up to. I am at a place where reflecting on the past but not being stuck in it has and will help me move forward in the best kind of way. In the words of Lewis Carroll, “I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then.”
It has been a crazy journey, which I will share over the course of the year, and I hope you will all be joining me in sharing stories of how we have crawled (or are still crawling) out the rabbit hole. So sit back and enjoy your cup of tea because we are about to go on an adventure.
* All quotes are from – Lewis Carroll, author of Alice in Wonderland.

One thought on “Crawling out of the rabbit hole

Leave a Reply

