From Nairobi to Nakuru: My love for Kenya grows

Two weeks ago I wrote about my weekend in Nairobi and I think it was evident that I fell in love; Well, this past weekend I decided to indulge in another trip into Kenya. A little more experienced, I called Riverside Shuttle and booked a return ticket from the Tanzanian Office; this cost 50 000 Tanzanian Shillings (R290). The original plan was to make our way to the Marsabit-Lake Turkana Cultural Festival in the north of Kenya but by the end of the week my bank account was telling me otherwise so Lizzie- the great- put together a more budget appropriate weekend for me. When I arrived on Friday I called Benson, a cab driver, to take me to Lizzie’s place and we had a quiet evening ( cab cost +/- R90). On Saturday we went for lunch at Muthaiga, which I spoke about in my previous blog. We ended our evening at Juniper Social; this time around the music was predominantly house music, with occasional hip-hop songs, and that potential dance floor I referred to in my previous post was in full use. Yasiin Bey, commonly known as Mos Def was also there for some time. It was a great night making more memories at these great Nairobi locations.

The dj's at Juniper Social
The dj’s at Juniper Social

On Sunday we packed the car in preparation for a 4 hour drive to Kembu Campsite just outside Nakuru, which forms part of the Rift Valley area. Though the plan was to leave mid to late morning we ended up only leaving mid afternoon. I must admit I am getting used to the fact that setting time frames is neither here nor there. When we arrived at the site the one tent we had requested was already set up and we were orientated around  the camping space. There is a nice braai (BBQ) and kitchen area, as well as a sitting area that we had to ourselves. We set up the other tent and then began to prepare our dinner, which was meat, chakalaka- a South African side dish- and bread. The site also has a restaurant, bar and games area that are open to guests. If you plan to eat at the restaurant be aware that they require at least 45 minutes to prepare the basic foods, such as toasties or fries, and it is best to pre-book for lunch and dinner, give at least  2-3 hours notice. In the morning we enjoyed some tea and coffee and had brunch before heading back to Nairobi. We were a camping party of four, plus a driver- using our own car- and it cost us 4 500 Kenyan Shillings (R570) per person for petrol, food, camping and the driver’s services.

The kitchen area, Kembu
The kitchen area, Kembu
The braai (BBQ) area, Kembu
The braai (BBQ) area, Kembu
Our camping space, Kembu
Our camping space, Kembu
Our home for the night, Kembu
Our home for the night, Kembu
The braai (BBQ) process
The braai (BBQ) process
Camping kitchen essential, Kembu
Camping kitchen essential, Kembu
Outdoor food warmer, Kembu
Outdoor food warmer, Kembu
Dinner set-up, Kembu
Dinner set-up, Kembu

This was a great way to spend Madaraka weekend; I learnt a lot about camping (will be waiting for Lizzie’s camping 101 memo), met a lot of new people and made some great memories. I will definitely look back on this weekend and have a few good chuckles.

Leave a Reply

